« Home

Grand Rapids Symphony's Coffee Classics 20/21st Century Concert

Friday, May 3, 2019, 5:00 PM

20/21st Century: Celebrating Women
May 3
John Varineau, conductor
Ava Ordman, trombone
• JOAN TOWER: Chamber Dance
• ANNA CLYNE: Within Her Arms
• RUTH CRAWFORD SEEGER: Andante for Strings
• RUTH CRAWFORD SEEGER: Rissolty, Rossolty
• DAVID BEIDENBENDER: Concerto for Trombone (Grand Rapids co-commission)

Ava Ordman, for nearly 25 years, served as Principal Trombonist of the Grand Rapids Symphony, frequently appearing as soloist with the orchestra. Now a professor of music at Michigan State University, Ordman returns for a concert of 20th and 21st century music, most of it by women. Composers included Grammy Award-winner Joan Tower and early 20th century composer Ruth Crawford Seeger who also happened to be stepmother to folksinger and songwriter Pete Seeger.

Concert starts at 10:00 a.m. Complimentary coffee and donut hour begins at 9:00 a.m.

Cost: Tickets start at $16 adults, $5 students
Phone: (616) 454-9451
Tickets: https://www.grsymphony.org/concerts-and-tickets
Event url: www.grsymphony.org/

Improve this event listing


24 Ransom Avenue NE
Grand Rapids, MI

View Map | Get Directions

More Event Ideas

Powered by Datasphere

Free Coupons in Grand Rapids / Kalamazoo / Battle Creek Add Your Coupon to LocalSaver


What can we do for you?

Thank you for your input. Please fill out the form below and provide as much information as possible about updates to this event or venue.